Quinoa – What is it…….

Vickie’s Kitchen

Aside from collecting and selling Vintage Tea Cups, another hobby of mine is I love to cook. I thought that I would share some of my  all-time favorite recipes as well as some of the new ones I am trying that I enjoy.

So what is this “Quinoa” ( pronounced KEEN-wah) everyone is talking about.  It’s the latest “Super-Food” even though it has been around for thousands of years.  Well, for starters, even though it looks like a grain it is actually a seed from a vegetable related to Swiss Chard, Spinach and Beets.  It is high in protein, amino acids, calcium and phosphorus.  It is also Gluten Free.  So being that the hubby is newly “Gluten Free”, I have been trying my hand at some of these recipes and let me tell you – I am impressed – this stuff if good!!  It is filling, you can make it ahead and use it during the week for lunches on the go, and you can add just about anything to it.

DSC_0444

So today I have attempted a recipe that I found at

http://produceonparade.com/

Kale and Quinoa Waldorf salad with Chickpeas ( sounds yummy) so I thought I would give it a try.

Turned out fabulous.  Easy to make and full of yummy “Super-Foods”.   I did however do what I do to every recipe that I try, I change it to my liking.

The recipe as I made it is as follows:

KALE AND QUINOA SALAD WITH CHICHPEAS (took out the word waldorf since I did NOT add walnuts, I prefer almonds and I added seeds, love my seeds)

1 cup dry quinoa, rinsed ( It is very important to ALWAYS rinse Quinoa before cooking)

2 cups water

2 TBSP. Olive Oil

2 TBSP. white vinegar

2 TBSP. Dijon Mustard

1 TBSP. Mayonnaise

pinch of sea salt

pinch of black pepper

1 bunch of Kale, washed, de-stemmed and finely chopped

2 celery stalks, sliced

Half a Red Onion, chopped

1 15oz. can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1/4 cup almonds or walnuts

1/2 cup dried cranberries

1/4 cup pepitas

DSC_0447

Bring rinsed Quinoa and water to a boil over high heat.  Once boiling, reduce the heat and cover for approx. 15 minutes.  Fluff with a fork when done and set aside to let cool.

In a small bowl mix oil, vinegar, mustard, mayo, salt and pepper together.

In a large bowl add the kale, celery, chickpeas, almonds, cranberries and pepitas.  Toss to combine.  Then add the cooled Quinoa and the dressing and toss everything together.

You can make this salad ahead of time, which I prefer to do because the flavours enhance.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.  Feeling “Super” healthy already!!

Mishelle, guess what I am bringing you and me for lunch tomorrow at work!!!   

DSC_0448

Leave a Reply

