City Mouse/Country Mouse and more before and afters.

My commute is generally the complete opposite of most people’s.  I drive from a big city, to a rural area, to work. My office is in a house, on a dirt road. Most people have traffic, cabs, construction and what not to complain about. .. this is my biggest problem.

  IMG-20121221-00010

TURKEYS! Those are wild ass turkeys.. and they wander out onto the road.. they’re ridiculously dumb, and I am terrified of them. They’re HUGE!

BTW, Meleagrisphobia is the irrational fear of turkeys.. I may have it printed on a tshirt.. loud and proud.

Just thought I’d share that with you.

Now for my weekend, two smallish projects. First this nasty old 70s table I was about to toss, it was just plain veneered wood. I coated it with 3 different colors of Annie Sloan Chalk Paint, the top is old white, the edge is Louis blue and the legs are Henrietta, a really soft pink.

IMG-20130223-00269 Still pretty lame

Next I printed out a graphic I liked from graphicsfairy.blogspot.ca

I sized it to fit the table, then i took a blue pastel (cause it was the only color I had) and rubbed all over the back.

IMG-20130223-00272

I decided not to use the edge around the graphic. 

IMG-20130223-00276

Rubbing everywhere there are letters.

Then i positioned the sheets in place and went over each letter with a pencil, so the blue rubbed off on the table. When I was finished it looked like this

IMG-20130223-00277

Then I made myself a big cup of coffee.

Next I went over all the letters with a black permanent sharpie, I have several sizes, needed a find point for the small letters. Then end result looks rather messy, but I knew I was just going to sand the heck out of it and antique it, so I didn’t mind.

IMG-20130223-00278 - Copy

Then I went to town with my sanding block, then, added a coat of clear wax, let it dry, then went over with some dark wax in a few areas to make it look even older. You would barely recognize it, that 70s child is in my upstairs hallway now. I love it.

IMG-20130223-00280

IMG-20130224-00290 - Copy

I promise I am going to start taking pictures with my camera and not my cell phone.

I have a tray project to share coming as well, But I think I will take some good quality “after” pictures before I post. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

