It’s time to live, live!

When it’s time to die, go ahead and die, and when it’s time to live, live. Don’t sort-of-maybe live, but live like you’re going all out, like you’re not afraid.”
Sue Monk Kidd, The Secret Life of Bees

It’s friday, thank you Mr. Calendar for that. I hate to ever complain about my kiddies…love them so much, but one with a sinus infection all week, and the other has a bad habit of waking up 3-4 times a night and claiming  she just needs “another snuggle”. I am tired, I would pay cash money for 8 hours of uninterrupted sleep.  But I guess that’s what we sign up for when we become parents. Wouldn’t trade places with anyone, my girls are the best.

Ok, that was my random rant, now down to the fun. This week was a busy one, sleeplessness aside. Started some Christmas baking, I forgot to take pictures too much chaos with the kiddies, so I am borrowing from the blogger who I borrowed the recipe from. http://www.howsweeteats.com

From How Sweet it is

From How Sweet it is

These were delish…. had to pack them up, brought them into work to hid them in the freezer because my husband has no self control. Everytime I bake for Christmas he sneaks into the freezer and nibbles. Every year I go to defrost, and I’m missing half my stash. He’s admitted he has a problem, the first step..lol. He lost 40lbs this year, so I don’t want to be responsible for any relapses. The recipe is here..

Next up was an Estate sale. If anyone isn’t familiar they are generally held when people downsize, move into retirement homes or… hmmmmmm.. pass away. Sometimes I feel like I am invading someones private life. After all, these are the items they’ve spent their lives accumulating. Then my mind wanders… what would people think when the saw my lifetime of hoards? Who would be judging me over my ridiculous collection of honey pots? Pretty morbid thoughts.. but hey, sleep deprivation.

So this past week, we gathered up some great items from an estate sale for the online store. I need my super photographer to take some pictures, so we can get them all up and posted. But here’s a sample of what will be appearing in the etsy store in the next few weeks.

19257060

Estate Sale Finds19257142

Lots more great stuff too, can’t wait to see it all listed. I think finding new homes for pieces that obviously someone thought were special enough to hold onto for 50+ years is part of why I love our online store. Just take any one of those pinwheel vases,…they’re probably at least 50 years old. How many times did they hold anniversary flowers, or some ripped out of the ground bouquets brought home by tiny hands for mom. Maybe a get well soon bunch, or some happy birthday daises. Hopefully they will be treated well, and maybe even passed on to grand kids as a new family heirloom. Warm fuzzys. (I really need some sleep) lol

Happy Days

Mishelle

Leave a Reply

